On my way walking to the station from UTS tonight in the tunnel underneath George Street, I saw pieces of broken beer bottles on the ground. I also hear scream or yell from girls, sounded like drunk girls from just on the opening to the bus stations. I looked up like a few other pedestrians in the tunnel but saw nothing. As I was walking out of under George St towards the Central tunnel, a group of 5-6 teenagers was walking towards me, I didn't expect anything and then one of them faked as if he was coming at me with a shout as I passed by him.
It wasn't the first time. And I don't think it would be the last. It's just a pain in the butt.
This time I said, "Shittt!" And turned to look at them disapprovingly. Another two small kids were behind them and they were laughing, smirking. They were like 12 to 14 years old, maybe younger. One of them, a small one faked a move too and I think I shot him a pretty pissed angry look, I was angry and he said, "Oh, they are just stupid." Maybe I got the other wrong and I yelled back something like, "Grow up..." and something like that. I probably wanted to say, "What the fuck?!" It did cross my mind to bash them in the head with the old black IBM laptop I was holding and break his nose. I think I could take those 2 small kids easily but then there were at least 3 bigger ones.
Afterward I saw the security guard just in front of the Central tunnel, he's probably to patrol the shops in the area between the 2 tunnels. He asked me if I usually walk this way at this time, and I said yea, I have a class that ends at 9pm. He advised me to not take the underground but go above next time and to tell my friends also. I then understand why Bei doesn't go underneath. I told him that this is pretty tragic and that people are getting beat up, even disables, get beat up by these people. Is there a way to solve this? He told me there are undercover cops but they are not there all the time. He also told me several people got beat up recently here, like 8 of them beat up this dude who was shaking as he approached the security guard. He told me that when this happen, and if that happened to me, he wouldn't be here.
He just didn't want any trouble. As we were talking (I was complaining), a lady told me "They are rotten (or something like that), they got nothing better to do." I didn't like she was kind of proud and happy to give me the information. It was a tragic sight. This whole issue of these drunken violent teenagers is tragic and serious, nothing to be make light of.
Anyway, that gave me the idea to possibly research the story and make a documentary out of it.
A fictional story also came up in my head-The End of Violence.
It would be something like this:
A good kid is walking from school, or just walking at night to train station or back home and is bashed up. Maybe it's about a young sweet teenager couple getting taunted, beat up and raped. Anyway, real tragic. The boy gets hospitalized. The dad get mad and slowly (like Fight Club) organized this informal organization composed of people who are basically just sick of these teenagers. They patrol hot spots of teenage gangs violence, escort people carrying baseball bat, cricket bat, golf club, shovel and etc. This group of people compose of off duty security guards, police officers, former victims from all walks of life but mostly men with a handful of women. They wear masks to shield their identity.
Occasionally they get into fights with drunken teenagers, make an example of one of them. They try to impose fear and order. They are frustrated that they can no longer enjoy freedom and be safe on their streets, which are taken over by violent teenagers with the authority almost useless in maintaining order.
At the end, there is a change. Streets are free of graffiti. People are fearful of one another. Everybody live in fear because nobody knows who will upset who and best to be respectful, thus the end of violence.
Monday, May 24, 2010
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment